Don’t Give Up

I’m feeling led to share this today.  Someone out there needs to read this.  If it is you, know that there is hope.  If you know someone who needs to read this share it.  I wrote it after coming out the other side of a thirty year battle with Anorexia:

A Child’s Cry
by Tina Barton

In the midst of the forest
A child cries
I cannot see her face
I hear her voice, I feel her pain
The past I can’t erase

I go in search of what I hear
But not of what I know.
Her anguish draws me nearer still
How much farther must I go?

To hold the child who calls for me
And has for all these years
I want to hold her, touch her face
And wipe away her tears

In the past I heard her cries
And turned away my ear
I did not turn in apathy
I turned away in fear

But now I go to soothe her
Go to hold her tenderly
And whisper to her, “You are safe”
The Lord has set you free.

Any addiction routed in childhood abuse of any kind forms a web that seems impossible to break free of but I am here as a testimony that it is possible with God’s help.  Jeremiah 29:11 reads,  “For I know the plans I have for you declare the Lord.  Plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”  We live in a fallen world.  Stuff happens.  What we do with it can make or break us.  You can choose to live in the pain of the past and miss the blessings of the present and future or work through it and use your experience to help someone else.  I choose the latter.

About The mom doc

Proverbs 31 wife and mother of 6.
This entry was posted in Faith. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

